Booking Activities 1.16 – Bookings bulk actions, reschedule scope, etc.

Booking Activities 1.16 allows you to edit multiple bookings at once. Only one notification is sent per customer per action. Your customers can reschedule a booking to a different activity, and change their reservations made without an account. Let’s discover all these new features together.

 

Bookings bulk actions

In Booking Activities > Bookings, you can now select multiple bookings and choose the action that will be performed for all these reservations.

Possible actions are:

  • Change bookings status
  • Change quantity booked
  • Reschedule bookings (change the booked event)
  • Send notification
  • Refund bookings
  • Delete bookings
    • If the booking was made with WooCommerce, you can also dissociate the booking from the order item, or delete the order item.
  • Change the bookings custom fields values (requires the Advanced Forms add-on)
  • Change the resources assigned to the bookings (requires the Resource Availability add-on)

Check the box in the table header to select all bookings of the current page.
Click the “Select all … items” button to select all bookings of all pages (make sure that the list is filtered at your convenience).

When you change the custom fields values and the assigned resources (respectively with the Advanced Forms and Resource Availability add-ons), you can choose to keep the existing values (to which the new values will be added), or to replace them with the new ones.

 

Reschedule to a different activity

You can allow your customers to reschedule their bookings to different activities.
You can choose the authorized activities in Booking Activities > Calendar editor > the activity settings > “Availability” tab > “Can be rescheduled to”.

You have several options:

  • “Same form, same activity” (by default): the customer can only reschedule to an event of the same activity, present on the same form
  • “Same form, specific activities”: if you choose this option, you will be able to manually select the authorized activities, only those present on the initial booking form will be considered
  • “Same form, all activities”: the customer can reschedule to all the activities present on the initial booking form
  • “All calendars, same activity”: the customer can only reschedule to an event of the same activity, but if this activity is present on several calendars, they can choose an event which was not present on the initial booking form
  • “All calendars, specific activities”: if you choose this option, you will be able to manually select the authorized activities, the customer will be able to choose an event which was not present on the initial reservation form
  • “All calendars, all activities”: the customer can reschedule their reservations to any existing event on your site

Administrators have their own setting in Booking Activities > Settings > Cancellation tab > “Administrators can reschedule bookings to”. Again, several options are possible: “All calendars, same activity” (default), “All calendars, all activities”, “Same form, same activity”, “Same form, all activities”.

Of course, administrators always benefit from the most permissive setting: anything customers can do, administrators can too.

What about permissions?
If the user who created the initial booking form does not have permission to manage a specific calendar, then the customer will not be able to reschedule their reservations to an event of this calendar.

This is very important if you are using Booking Activities in a marketplace website, or if you are using the permission management system. So check carefully who the authors of your booking forms are in Booking Activities > Booking Forms > “Author” column, as well as their permissions.

For Operators or other users who can manage bookings, there are no changes, calendars are still limited to those authorized to the user, the user will not be able to reschedule a booking to an event that is on a calendar that they do not have permission to manage.

 

Reschedule to an event with a different price

The Prices and Credits add-on has protection that prevents your customers from rescheduling their bookings to an event with a different price.

An option has been added to allow your customers to reschedule their reservations to an event regardless of its price. This option can be found in Booking Activities > Settings > Cancellation tab > “Allow rescheduling to an event with a different price”.

Administrators always have this option in the rescheduling dialog.

 

Manually send a notification

You can now send a notification manually from the bookings list. A button has been added in the “Actions” column, it opens a dialog box in which you can choose the notification to be sent.

So, if your customers lose their booking confirmation email, you can easily send it again.

 

On-the-fly notifications merging

If two notifications are sent at the same time to the same client, they are automatically merged into one! This prevents your customers from receiving a multitude of similar notifications. For example,

  • if you place a WooCommerce order including multiple reservations, the customer will receive a single confirmation email for all bookings
  • if you cancel multiple bookings at once using the bulk actions described above, each customer will receive a single notification for all their cancelled reservations

Relevant bookings are automatically displayed with the {booking_list} tag (which is included in all the notifications by default).

If you want to show more information about each booking, you can use the new {for_each_booking}{/for_each_booking} tag.

Everything between {for_each_booking} and {/for_each_booking} will be displayed for each booking.

For example:
{for_each_booking}
Your "{booking_title}" booking (#{booking_id}) on {booking_start} is confirmed!
{/for_each_booking}

Will display:

Your “Tennis” booking (#14) on Monday March 31, 2024 8:30 a.m. is confirmed!
Your “Football” booking (#15) on Friday May 14, 2024 2:00 p.m. is confirmed!

To activate this feature, you must activate the “Asynchronous Notifications” option in Booking Activities > Settings > Notifications tab.

 

Change bookings without account

You can allow your customers to reschedule, cancel, or request a refund for the bookings they made without creating an account.

To do this, you need to:

  1. Create a page and place the [bookingactivities_list] shortcode in it
  2. In the booking confirmation email, include a link to this page with this parameter: user_auth_key={user_auth_key}

For example,

  • if your page URL is https://example.net/my-bookings/ then your link URL will be:
    https://example.net/my-bookings/?user_auth_key={user_auth_key}.
  • if your page URL is https://example.net/?p=478 then your link URL will be:
    https://example.net/?p=478&user_auth_key={user_auth_key}.

1 thought on “Booking Activities 1.16 – Bookings bulk actions, reschedule scope, etc.

Leave a Reply